Team name for Roy, Russell 
and Spencer McCarthy





Roy has raced for many years but now with the addition of his Sons, Team McCarthy Motorsport was formed in 1996 when Russell, the eldest son of Roy and Pam, decided that he too wanted to race an MGB. Roy has raced with the MG Car Club since 1970 and campaigned his MGA in the MGA Register Championship winning the Championship some six times. Roy moved into the BCV8 Championship in 1986 and raced in the Road Modified B class winning the class several times and the Overall Championship in 1995. By 1995 Russell had decided to start his racing career in the BCV8 Standard A Class. A damaged MGB was donated by Geoff Pyke, stripped, rebuilt, jigged, re-sprayed blue and put together over the winter ready to start the 1996 Season. He enjoyed the experience and shared the car for this first year with his brother Spencer, his junior by 11 months, who raced it in the Thoroughbred Sportscar Championship. Russell did well and came home 3rd overall in the A class.

Over the winter of 1996/97 another damaged car was found this time from Peter Collis and again it was stripped, rebuilt, re-sprayed green and put together ready to start the 1997 Season. What a good season that was. The A class of the BCV8 Championship was full of young, enthusiastic drivers about eight of them all with the desire to win. The following year 1998 these drivers made the seasons best racing as despite the rest of the Championships classes being well subscribed the close, clean and good driving by these eight drivers nose to tail, lap after lap, brought their activities to the front of the Championship and Spencer in his second full season with the BCV8 Championship managed to win 10 of the 12 races plus getting fastest lap which gained him Overall Championship Winner in the Championships 21st year and in his 21st year. Russell was never far behind though and came home third in class A. Roy won the Road Modified B class. Another very good Season for McCarthy Motorsport.

Parallel to the BCV8 Championship Roy, Russell and Spencer also raced in the MGCC Thoroughbred Sportscar Championship competing against other marques like TR’s, Astons, Healeys to name a few, with similar high placed results and many podium places for all three of them.

The years went on and the three McCarthy drivers were always close to the front of the field, even sharing Roys big MGBGTV8 and competing in the Heritage GT Series against Cameros, Astons, Mustangs etc. By 2005 Spencer was ready for a change and purchased a Ginetta G20 to try his hand in another type of one make Championship. In his first year 2007 he went reasonably well although he didn’t seem to have the power that most of the others had but this was sorted by the end of the Season and he went out in 2008 with the ability and now the power, managing to take the laurels and Win the Overall 2008 G20 Championship.

Russell followed Spencer into the Ginetta Championship in 2008 and wasn’t far behind him at most of the meetings and he managed 5th overall. These two scores combined put McCARTHY MOTORSPORT on top of the Leader board with ‘Teams’ in the 2008 Ginetta G20 Championship.